Nachtszenen creation

On Sunday 17 march 2024 at 17:00

Add to calendar

Grande Salle de la Mairie - Roubaix

Sturm und Klang presents "Nachtszenen" as part of "A composer in his city," Jacques Lenot's Carte Blanche.

Grande Salle de la Mairie 17 Grand Place, 59100 Roubaix France

The German title "Nachtszenen" (Night Scenes or Nocturnal Scenes) recalls Schumann's "Waldszenen" (Forest Scenes), a piano collection from which Jacques Lenot borrowed the emblematic and mysterious "Oiseau Prophète," which became the name of the edition that publishes his music.

The work is a collection of 21 pieces grouped into three parts of 7 pieces each, with a total duration of about an hour. The first 14 pieces are adaptations, transcriptions, and orchestrations of some of the Nocturnes for piano composed for Françoise Thinat and the students of the École Normale de Musique de Paris at the end of 2017. The last 7 explore complex rhythmic writings already glimpsed but not yet developed. In fact, it is by composing on the idea of imaginary "Scènes" – or theater or opera – that certain recurring characters (which could be called "Dramatis Personae" or Characters of the Drama) emerge.

These nocturnal scenes, between dreams and perhaps nightmares, can be thought of as sudden and quickly disappearing reappearances of certain characters. The 12 notes of the scale (originally "serial") are the 12 characters - some deceased - others still alive who populate the composer's memory and musical space.

Maxime Stasyk, violin - Hugo Ranilla, violin - Bram Bossier, viola - Pierre Sutra, cello - Natacha Save, double bass

Anne Davids, flute - Cédric De Bruycker, clarinet - Tibo Schildermans, oboe - Mavroudes Troullos, bassoon

Sze-Fong Yeong, horn - Frankie De Kuyffer, trumpet - Alain Pire, trombone

Thomas Van Haeperen, conductor